MARKETING AND BUSINESS ACRONYMS & ABBREVIATIONS EXPLAINED – Rocket Digital Marketing

When you make your entry into digital marketing, there will be many terms that are new for you. It becomes hard to understand the video or the article when you don’t know the meaning of the term. Also, it becomes a problem when you are setting up the marketing campaign.

So, we have collected some of the most used marketing terms and we will explain them to you. After this guide, you can easily understand the meaning of all the terms.

We will start with the most popular terms and then proceed. In this way, you can know what are the terms.

Thereafter, we will also see the business terms which are mostly used. If you are running a business, it’s important to know all the terms. This will help you in many places.

Let’s get started.

Digital Marketing Terms

We will start with the digital marketing Acronyms and Abbreviations. These are the terms that are mostly used in digital marketing. When you are creating any marketing campaign or you are buying a service from any website, you will surely see these terms somewhere.

CTA stands for Call To Action.

Usually, it’s a button using which the user will take the action. It can be the buy button or it can be the subscribe button.

CPC stands for Cost Per Click.

It’s the total cost you are spending on the click on an advertisement. For example, if you are spending $1 and you got 10 clicks, your CPC is 10 cents.

CPM stands for Cost Per Mille.

It’s the cost you are incurring per 1000 impressions. If you are getting a 1k impression and you have spent $5, your CPM is $5.

CPL stands for Cost Per Lead.

Leads are nothing but any detail of the potential customer. Let’s say, for example, if a customer enters their email address in your sales funnel, you have got one lead. In simpler words, when you get any detail from a customer such as an email or mobile number (when the user shows interest in your product or service), it’s called a lead.

As you might have guessed, CPL stands for Cost Per Lead. It’s the total cost you are spending to get one click.

PPC stands for Pay Per Click.

It’s usually used in the campaign. It simply says that you will have to pay the charges for every click you get. PPC is just like CPC but from a different percentage.

CPA stands for Cost Per Action.

Here, the action can be anything. It can be signing up and entering the email address, adding products to the cart or it can be buying the product. When you are paying the cost every time the user acts, it is called CPA. The action is usually set by you as a marketer.

Conversion is one of the most used terms in digital marketing. It’s when the user gets converted to your customer. The conversion can be of any type, it can be the conversion from visitor to lead, lead to customer, a visitor to customer, etc. This depends on your goals.

People often use the short form of Conversion Rate and call it CR. It’s generally measured in the percentage and tells you about the number of visitors being converted. It can be as simple as filling the form or it can also be buying a product. This depends on the goal you have set.

BR stands for Bounce Rate.

“You need to control your bounce rate”, you might have heard this at many places. Bounce rate is the number of visitors that leave your website after seeing the first page. This is measured in percentage. For example, if 100 customers come to your website. If 30 of them leave your website after seeing the home page and 70 of them open a new page on your website, your bounce rate is 30%.

CTR

CTR is yet another popular term used in digital marketing. It stands for Click Through Rate. It’s the total number of clicks your CTA receives on a webpage. For example, assume you have a “buy now” CTA in your page set. Now, if 100 people visit your webpage and 10 people click on that button, your CTR rate is 10%. As you might have guessed, it’s also measured in the percentage. However, some people often keep the number of clicks.

If you are into influencer marketing, this is a common term you will see. “DM for paid promo” or similar stuff. DM simply means Direct Message. It means that the text is telling you to message them on that particular platform. In some cases, it might also mean Direct Mail.

Talking about DM, we are here with the next term. RT is commonly used on Twitter. It simply means “ReTweet”. People use it to increase their presence on Twitter.

Sales funnel is a complete process that starts when the customer enters their email address to the last stage that is when the customer buys the product. There are various ways a funnel works. Most of the funnel works with the AIDA approach. We will surely see about AIDA soon. There are many funnels such as sales funnel, webinar funnels, etc. All of them work similarly but the end goal is different.

It’s a four-step action plan using which one can design the sales funnel.

One of the services of RocketMarketing includes PR. So, what is PR? PR stands for Public Relations. PR means to maintain the relationship with the right audience and inform them about the company’s progress or to add any comment. Just like a person posts something on social media, public relation is for advanced things such as informing the investors or employees.

The reason we have kept SEO in the middle of the list is because of one single reason. Most people already know about it. SEO stands for Search Engine Optimization. It is all about ranking your website in search engines. When you are optimizing your website to rank for the search engine, the process is called SEO.

SERP stands for Search Engine Results Page. It’s the page displayed in the search engine when you search for a term.

GMB stands for Google My Business. It’s a tool provided by Google to rank for local listing. You will see a small card in the sidebar when you register your website in the GMB listing. GMB is a pretty popular tool among people who are into local SEO.

UV is not very widely used. People often use the full form that is Unique Visitor. It’s the total number of visitors you are getting. The period taken here is 30 days. So, if a visitor visits your website 5 times in 30 days, it’s considered 1 unique visitor.

SMM stands for Social Media Marketing. When you are running any type of advertising on social media, it’s called SMM. Social media marketing can be paid or it can be free. Influencer marketing is also included here.

Some people often refer to SMM as Social Media Management. It is quite similar to Social Media Marketing. Here, the entire social media is handled by the company and they manage all the things for you.

It is a quite popular criterion used in sales.

KPI stands for Key Performance Indicator. KPI can be a bit complex term for the new marketers. This will tell you about the entire performance of the marketing campaign. For example, CAC, lead, CTAs, etc are considered here.

SEM stands for Search Engine Marketing. It’s the marketing where you run search engine ads for getting the customers. It can be PPC ads on Google and Bing or any other.

WOM stands for Word Of Mouth. Word of Mouth is the marketing done by the user when they are simply talking. There can be many brands about which you heard from your friend while you were simply talking with each other, right? This is called Word Mouth Marketing. As the same says, it’s pretty self-explanatory.

Business Terms

Now, we will see some of the business terms and the full form of the same. These are the terms mostly used in the business world.

CMS stands for Content Management System. It is an application using which you can manage your content with ease. WordPress is a great example of this. It’s a place where you don’t need to write the code to create your website or application.

API stands for Application Programming Interface. It’s a set of rules by which the application will get the information from the server. For example, if you are planning to create an android app for your website, you will need to use API. API will connect your application to your website and you will get the data you need.

B2B stands for Business to Business. If you are a business that sells services or products to other businesses, you are considered in the B2B category.

B2C stands for Business to Consumer or Customer. As the name says, if your business is selling services or products directly to the customers, it’s called a B2C business.

Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC) is the total cost you are spending to acquire the customer. It doesn’t just count the leads and neither it just counts the action. If you are spending 100 bucks on social ads and 100 bucks on search ads, you got 10 customers. Your cost for each customer is $20. Of course, the numbers are just taken for explaining,

LTV stands for Lifetime Value or Customer Lifetime Value. It’s the total amount of profit you made from a particular customer.

You need to take the total sales and subtract the cost. After subtracting the canceled order, you will get the final LTV of that particular customer.

MTD stands for Month to Date. It’s the beginning of the current month and the ending of the current date. The period between the dates is calculated here. If today is the 21st date, then 1 to 21 days are considered when someone says MTD.

YTD is similar to the previous one, As the name says, it stands for Year to Date. It’s the period starting from the year to the current date. In most cases, this is the actual year and not the financial year. In some cases, if specified, it might be for the financial year. In the same way, QTD is used where Q stands for the Quarter.

MoM, QoQ, YoY

These are the three terms that are mostly used in the date. This will give you the term view. In MoM, QoQ, and YoY, M stands for Month, Q stands for Quarter, and Y stands for Year. The full forms are simply Month over the month, Quarter over Quarter, and Year over Year respectively. This will give a term view. Usually, these terms are used when you want to see the report of the date.

ROI is also counted as a marketing term. The full form is Return on Investment. The amount of return you get for every dollar you spend is called ROI.

SWOT is an analysis process that stands for Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, and Threats. All these are considered to see how strong the company is.

Of course, it is pretty self-explanatory. EOW stands for End of Week. In business terms, it’s not the end of the actual week but the end of the business week. If you are a 5-day working company, the end will be on Friday. Depending on the country and your working days, this might change.

Some people are mistaken here thinking CFO stands for Co-founder. However, it stands for Chief Financial Officer. The person is responsible for taking all the financial decisions.

COO stands for Chief Operating Officer. The person is responsible for managing all the business operations of the company.

Security is also important. The senior-most person who is responsible for the security of the company is called CSO. They manage all the security operations.

UI/UX

UI stands for User Interface whereas UX stands for User Experience. The user interface is the design and the overall interface the user will see. In the same way, the UX is easy to usage. If the user can easily interact with the website or the app, the UX is good.

Quick Common Full Forms

IP: Internet Protocol – Unique Address given to all the people using the internet

HTTP: HyperText Transfer Protocol – Protocol to open the website

HTTPS: HyperText Transfer Protocol Secure – Secure Protocol

FTP: File Transfer Protocol – Protocol used for file transfer

HTML: HyperText Markup Language – Markup language used for webpage

CSS: Cascading Style Sheets – Used to design the web page by adding text-decoration and similar stuff

URL: Uniform Resource Locator – It’s the link to the website

PFA: Please Find Attachments – Tells you to see the attached files.

Final Words

To conclude, these are some of the Acronyms & Abbreviations used in the world of digital marketing and business. Depending on the context, you can use the one that is most applicable to you.

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